France, officially the French Republic (FrenchRépublique françaiseIPA:), is a country whose metropolitan territory is located in Western Europe and that also comprises various overseas islands and territories located in other continents. Metropolitan France extends from the Mediterranean Sea to the English Channel and the North Sea, and from the Rhine to the Atlantic Ocean. French people often refer to Metropolitan France as L'Hexagone (The "Hexagon") because of the geometric shape of its territory.

Population: 64,102,140 (20th)
Area: 674,843 kmĀ² (40th) / 260,557 sq mi

* Intro text, area and population information from

Additional Information